The Martin A. Klein Prize in African History

September 2010
Perspectives on History;Sep2010, Vol. 48 Issue 6, p21
The article presents information on how to nominate candidates for the 2011 Martin A. Klein Prize in African History, with a deadline of May 15, 2011. The prize is intended to honor the best book in English on African history published during the previous year. It was established to honor Martin A. Klein, professor of history at the University of Toronto.


Related Articles

  • The vacant land: The mythology of British expansion in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. Crais, Clifton C. // Journal of Social History;Winter91, Vol. 25 Issue 2, p255 

    Argues that the social and cultural construction of a negative image of the black critically informed early South African historical writing and particularly the narrative of European expansion. Historians neglect of the study of the first half of the nineteenth century; Symbolic opposition in...

  • Blind trust and bad faith. Weiler, Derek // Quill & Quire;Mar2006, Vol. 72 Issue 2, p6 

    The article presents the author's opinions regarding various issues related to the literary genre of non-fiction. In mid-January 2006, the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction unveiled its latest shortlist. In terms of media attention, people who are promoting the Charles Taylor Prize...

  • NEED TO FIND NONFICTION? Campbell, Edith // Library Media Connection;Jan/Feb2014, Vol. 32 Issue 4, p52 

    The article presents advice for finding and developing a school library's nonfiction resources. Introductory details are given describing the importance of nonfiction for school libraries and for young readers. Advice is then given for librarians to find supportive resources to identify...

  • 2014 Book of the Year Award. Martin, Greg; Bolton, Robbie // Journal of Academic Librarianship;2014, Vol. 57 Issue 2, p138 

    No abstract available.

  • LONG MAN-HISTORY TODAY AWARDS.  // History Today;Oct2008, Vol. 58 Issue 10, p61 

    The article announces awards given to historians who published books in 2008 including the Book of the Year awarded to David Hendy for his "Life on Air: A History of Radio 4," and the Historical Picture Researcher of the Year awarded to Juliet Brightmore for "A Little History of the English...

  • John F. Richards Prize for South Asian History to Be Launched. R. B. T. // Perspectives on History;Jan2011, Vol. 49 Issue 1, p18 

    The article discusses the creation of the John F. Richards Prize by the American Historical Association (AHA), which will be awarded annually for the best book on South Asian history at the AHA's national conference beginning in 2012. It presents deadlines and requirements for books to be...

  • Where Do All the Prizes Go? Hunt, Jonathan // Horn Book Magazine;Jul/Aug2005, Vol. 81 Issue 4, p439 

    The article examines the literary prizes available for informational picture books in the United States. Informational picture books which have won literary awards are discussed. The author addresses the prevalence of informational picture books in the market. Particular attention is given to...

  • A PASSIONATE VOICE. Tate, J.O. // National Review;3/13/1987, Vol. 39 Issue 4, p52 

    Profiles Andrew Lytle, a writer who has been honored with Richard Weaver Award, the other Ingersoll Prize. Published works; Vision of American history; "A Wake for the Living: A Family Chronicle"; "The Velvet Horn"; "Stories".

  • Two Métis books win awards. Dansereau, Inna // Saskatchewan Sage;Jan2003, Vol. 7 Issue 4, p5 

    Reports on 2002 Saskatchewan Book Awards held on November 30, 2002. Winner of the award in the First Peoples Publishing category; Award won by the book 'Métis Legacy'; Reason for nominating the book 'Drops of Brandy.'


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics