Agana...The capital city of Guam

September 1997
Monkeyshines on America;Sep97 Territories Issue: Guam, p7
Presents information about Agana, the capital city of Guam. Definition of the name Agana; Historical influences in the city; Famous landmarks.


Related Articles

  • INTRODUCTION. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p4 

    Capital means the city where the government of a state meets. These capitals provide important information about their states. Often, the city with the most people and businesses become the capital. However, the capitals may change with time.

  • ALABAMA. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p5 

    Montgomery is the capital of Alabama. It served as the capital of the Confederate States of America when the American Civil War began in 1861. The state changed its capital four times before finally settling on Montgomery in 1847.

  • ALASKA. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p6 

    Juneau became the capital of Alaska in 1900. It remained the capital when Alaska became a state in 1959. However, Juneau merged with the island town of Douglas in 1970.

  • ARIZONA. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p6 

    Phoenix is the capital of Arizona. It is the state's largest city which was built from local materials. White settlers named Phoenix, a desert city, for the legendary sun-bird that rose from its own ashes.

  • DELAWARE. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p11 

    Dover is the capital of Delaware. It became the capital in 1777. It is also the seat of Kent County, one of the three counties in the second-smallest state.

  • GEORGIA. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p13 

    Atlanta is the capital of Georgia. It is also a major transportation center in the state. A 2,000-pound Miss Freedom statue tops the capitol's gilded dome.

  • KANSAS. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p18 

    Topeka is one of the largest cities in Kansas. It became the state's capital in 1861. Anti-slavery colonists led by Charles Robinson and Cyrus Holliday settled the city in 1854.

  • KENTUCKY. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p19 

    Frankfort is the capital of Kentucky. It became the capital six years before Kentucky won statehood. The city has built four capitols since then.

  • NEW HAMPSHIRE. Maurer, Tracy // State Capitals;2002, p28 

    Concord is the capital of New Hampshire. The city capitol shows a large, weatherproof metal eagle at the top of the dome.


Read the Article

Other Topics