Commentaries on The Foundation of Leadership in Baldridge Winning Organizations

Hinton, James H.
December 2007
Modern Healthcare;Dec2007 Supplement, Vol. 37, p21
Trade Publication
The author discusses the leadership style in healthcare organizations in the U.S. that have won the Malcom Baldridge National Quality Award. He says that healthcare must undergo fundamental changes to respond to changing customer needs, delivering benchmark clinical results, and providing affordable services. That is why they chose Baldrige as the performance framework to accelerate their progress. Healthcare organizations can adopt Baldrige as the performance framework to accelerate their progress and success.


Related Articles

  • BALDRIGE AWARDS PRESENTED.  // Quality;May2007, Vol. 46 Issue 5, p9 

    The article offers information about the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The 2006 recipients of the award include the Premier Inc., MESA Products Inc. and North Mississippi Medical Center. An independent board of examiners have evaluated the applicants in several areas, such as...

  • MALCOLM BALDRIGE NATIONAL QUALITY AWARD: Does Baldrige Make A Business Case for Quality?. Dean, Mark L.; Tomovic, Cynthia L. // Quality Progress;Apr2004, Vol. 37 Issue 4, p40 

    The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award has been an immensely successful model for promoting the collection and sharing of best practices across the U.S. Its focus on quality management and business results has been a beacon for companies driven to excellence. The success of Baldrige winners...

  • Winning Formulas. Rollins, Gina // H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks;Feb2004, Vol. 78 Issue 2, p32 

    Features the winners of the 2003 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award in health care in the U.S. Baptist Hospital in Pensacola, Florida; Saint Luke's Hospital in Kansas City, Missouri.

  • What's the Baldrige Quality Award, and how might it help your firm?  // Financial Executive;Sep/Oct90, Vol. 6 Issue 5, p30 

    The article discusses the Malcom Baldridge National Quality Award. The Baldridge award is presented annually by the U.S. Commerce Department to a company that has demonstrated excellence in seven areas including leadership, information and analysis, strategic quality planning, human resource...

  • Leading organizational improvement: Finding structure within culture. Spong, David // Plant Engineering;Jul2007, Vol. 61 Issue 7, p27 

    The article focuses on the use of the management framework called the Malcolm Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence to improve the organizational structure in the U.S. According to the author, the real appeal of the Baldrige framework is its ability to create a meaningful balance between...

  • Leading Faculty and Staff to a Baldrige-Based School. Jacobsen, Janet // Journal for Quality & Participation;Winter2006, Vol. 29 Issue 4, p8 

    The article urges school principals in the U.S. to create an environment of excellence in their school based on the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award criteria. The principal, in leading faculty and staff members, must strive to overcome any sense of complacency to move the school from good...

  • Pursuit of excellence leads to Baldrige quality awards.  // AHA News;7/12/2004, Vol. 40 Issue 14, p8 

    Features two U.S. hospitals that won the 2003 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. Saint Luke's Hospital of Kansas City, Missouri; Baptist Hospital in Pensacola, Florida; Information about the Baldrige award program; Basis for selecting the hospitals as winners of the service excellence award.

  • THE COMMITTEE ON GOVERNANCE CORNER. Altman, Henry // Trustee;Jun2003, Vol. 56 Issue 6, p6 

    Provides information on the Baldrige National Quality Program (BNQP), a public-private partnership which aimed to improve performance of health care organizations in the U.S. Criteria and evaluation standards for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award managed by the BNQP.

  • '04 Baldrige recipients include two-time manufacturer winner.  // Industrial Maintenance & Plant Operation;Feb2005, Vol. 66 Issue 2, p6 

    The article reports that U.S. President George W. Bush and Commerce Secretary Don Evans announced four recipients of the 2004 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award late last year. Among them is Texas Nameplate Co. Inc., who won the 1998 Baldrige in the small-business category. The Dallas-based...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics