Protest and Revolution

Wood, Robin
December 2006
Cineaction;2006, Issue 70, p1
The article offers a discussion regarding global warming and composer Aulis Sallinen in the U.S. The author shared his views on the environmental risks brought about by the rapid technological developments. According to the author, the government must have taken the necessary drastic measures to curb pollution and planet devastation. Meanwhile, the author comments on the death of classical music which for him is infinitely more important as part of American history. He talks about Aulis Sallinen, a well-known composer of an extraordinary oeuvre that includes eight symphonies, six operas, five string quartets, a violin, and a cello concerto.


Related Articles

  • Helsinki: Sallinen's 'King Lear' Weitzman, Ronald // Tempo;Jan2001, Issue 215, p41 

    Assesses the opera version of 'King Lear,' by composer Aulis Sallinen. Description of the characters; Details of some scenes; Musical techniques and themes used by Sallinen.

  • Paavo Haavikko: Opera Librettist. Arni, Erkki // World Literature Today;Fall84, Vol. 58 Issue 4, p559 

    Focuses on the libretti written by Finnish author Paavo Haavikko for the operas, "The Horseman" and "The King Goes Forth to France." Details of how composer Aulis Sallinen became involved in the development of the play; Adaptation of the play into an actual libretto; Partnership of Sallinen and...

  • AULIS SALLINEN'S LEAR. Salminen, Matti // Limelight;Nov2015, p34 

    A personal narrative is presented in which the author discusses his experience of working in composer Aulis Sallinen's opera production "King Lear."

  • Symphony 6; Cello Concerto. GIMBEL // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2010, Vol. 73 Issue 2, p146 

    The article reviews the classical music releases "Symphony 6" and "Cello Concerto," composed by Aulis Sallinen and performed by Jan-Erik Gustafsson, Norrköping Symphony and Ari Rasilainen.

  • The King Goes Forth to France. Mark // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2006, Vol. 69 Issue 5, p192 

    The article reviews the music release "The King Goes Forth to France," composed by Aulis Sallinen and performed by the Finnish Philharmonic Chorus, the Tapiola Chamber Choir and the Helsinki Philharmonic.

  • Symphony 8; Violin Concerto; Shadows; Palace Rhapsody. Gimbel // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2005, Vol. 68 Issue 5, p149 

    The article reviews several chamber music releases composed by Aulis Sallinen and performed by various artists. It includes "Symphony 8," "Violin Concerto," "Shadows," and "Palace Rhapsody."

  • Symphonies 2+4; Horn Concerto; Mauermusik. Hecht, Roger // American Record Guide;May/Jun2006, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p153 

    The article reviews thee orchestral music releases composed by Aulis Sallinen and performed by the Norrkoping Symphony Orchestra. It includes "Symphonies 2+4," Horn Concerto" and "Mauermusik."

  • Suomi and the National Opera: The Language of the Finnish Opera Boom. FRANKEL, LAUREN // Ars Lyrica: Journal of the Lyrica Society for Word-Music Relatio;2013, Vol. 22, p41 

    Just as the music of Jean Sibelius helped to establish Finnish culture under Russian rule, opera became one of the symbols of contemporary national identity that Finland presented to the world during the Cold War. Founded in 1911 during the struggle between Finnish- and Swedish-speaking factions...

  • SALLINEN Symphonies: No. 2. No. 4. Horn Concerto. Mauermusik/SALLINEN Symphonies: No. 3; No. 5/SALLINEN Chamber Music: III. IV. V. Elegy for Sebastian Knight. Introduction and Tango Overture. Scott, Phillip // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;May/Jun2009, Vol. 32 Issue 5, p227 

    The article reviews several classical music release composed by Aulis Sallinen and performed by the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra including "Horn Concerto," "Symphonies: No. 3," and "Elergy for Sebastian Knight."


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics