Anti-parasite drugs sweep Nobel prize in medicine 2015

Callaway, Ewen; Cyranoski, David
October 2015
Nature;10/8/2015, Vol. 526 Issue 7572, p174
Academic Journal
The article announces that pharmacologist Youyou Tu won the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, along with microbiologists William C. Campbell and Satoshi ÅŒmura, becoming the first winner of a Nobel prize to be based in China for her research on the drug artemisinin.


Related Articles

  • Nobel Prize for artemisinin research: Indian side of the story. TRIPATHI, ANIL KUMAR; DIKSHIT, MADHU // Current Science (00113891);12/25/2015, Vol. 109 Issue 12, p2172 

    The article discusses the contributions of Indian researchers in artemisinin research in light of the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine 2015 awarded to chemist Youyou Tu. Topics covered include the success of Artemisia annua extracts and artemisinin in treating malaria, and the work by the...

  • Nobel Prize discovery paves the way for immunological traffic. Stow, Jennifer L. // Nature Reviews Immunology;Dec2013, Vol. 13 Issue 12, p839 

    The article announces that James Rothman, Randy Schekman and Thomas Südhof have been recognized at the 2013 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for their work on the key components and mechanisms of the trafficking machinery in eukaryotik cells.

  • 2015 awards: China Nobel stirs up attack on academies. Miao, Xin // Nature;10/29/2015, Vol. 526 Issue 7575, p640 

    A letter to the editor is presented in response to an article, published in the 2015 Volume 526 of "Nature" magazine, regarding debate in China related to the 2015 Nobel Prize awarded to Youyou Tu, the first Chinese researcher to received the award.

  • Nobel, Like Lasker, Goes For Cellular Transport. Breindl, Anette // BioWorld Today;10/8/2013, Vol. 24 Issue 193, p1 

    The article announces that scientists James Rothman, Randy Schekman and Thomas Sudhof have received the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their discoveries of a machinery that regulates vesicle traffic, a transport system in human cells.

  • Disease in the Dish: Transformation of HealthCare Continues. Ghosh, Subhasish; Chatterjee, Subhankar // Journal of Pakistan Medical Students;Jan-Mar2013, Vol. 3 Issue 1, p46 

    The article announces that the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2012 was given to developmental biologist Sir John Bertrand Gurdon and clinician-scientist Shinya Yamanaka.

  • UT Southwestern scientist shares 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.  // Biomedical Market Newsletter;10/10/2011, Vol. 21, p247 

    The article announces that doctors Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann were awarded with the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

  • All the Natural World's a Stage. MISHRA, ARUNIMA // Business Today;2/2/2014, Vol. 23 Issue 2, p110 

    The article features Sir Paul Nurse, Nobel Prize winner in Physiology or Medicine in 2001 and voted the most influential scientist in Great Britain in 2010.

  • Three share Nobel Prize 2013.  // BioSpectrum;Nov2013, Vol. 11 Issue 11, p77 

    The article announces the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine awarded to three U.S. scientist professors including Randy W. Schekman, James E. Rothman, and Thomas C. Südhof.

  • INSERM (Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale) Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011: Jules Hoffmann.  // Biomedical Market Newsletter;10/10/2011, Vol. 21, p245 

    The article announces that Luxembourg-born scientist and biologist Jules Hofmann was awarded with the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics